I was listening to this fantastic talk by President Uchtdorf during General Conference on Saturday and I had an epiphany.

It is that our lack of patience is our ego telling us that what we want and feel at that moment is more important than what the other person wants or feels.

This is not true.

My children’s reality is just as valid as my reality. Even when, by all appearances, their actions say to me “I’m being willfully disobedient,” it is usually a misunderstanding, mixed messsages, their lack of language skills, and of course my ego that is simply getting in the way.

It reminds me of this sweet story from my friend Kristi about seeking first to understand before seeking to be understood.

I see even brighter days ahead in our future. I love Conference!…and my kids for letting me watch it. Thank you, President Uchtdorf.